brewers baseball and things

i can’t think of a title other than Paul Bunyan work boots

13 Comments

The chemist, classical guitar player, music and literary critic, number crunching baseball fan all have a place in snobocracy. The table setting is not just 3 forks of different shapes and sizes. There’s reverse snobbery of rebels refusing to chill inside a suburban posh.

My everyman dictionary; first edition 1940 is postcard small. I think it’s from  England. I got it for free long time ago. Statistical break downs in the intro. The letter S is the most prolific letter; appears in most words-5,647, most phrases-7908 and most pages 87.

There’s a unique features section, comes before the actual words; some sort of marketing distinction I guess. The words aiblins, airt, canty, drook, ettlegleg, sneck, and thrave are Scottish. The words gink, muss, and yegg are American. I’ve never heard of any of them, but there is doggone, frazzle, gee-whizz, high hat, lickety split and vamoose.

New words of the time I guess. Some survive. Some don’t.

Shakespeare’s used 5,170 unique words among his first 35,000, a couple thousand behind Outkast, MF Doom, Blackalicious, Canibus and Aesop Rock with 7,392 unique words. The study or comparison or whatever.

Hip Hop and Rap music gets a bad rap….is just words, is much more than words, is substance requiring some serious ears pining to hear. There’s endless excuses why people don’t like rap, but rare is someone who actually listens to rap.

Rock and roll and country is easy to hear; easy for me anyway. Punk and death metal a little trickier. And rap requires squinted ears, but once it’s clear or clearer, a rap is a story sometimes a rhyme, sometimes a flow. Free style. If we all play one instrument, it’s free verse. We do it all the time; bumping into people on the street and at work.. People we know. People we don’t know. A trumpet bouquet of words we all send em skyward.

Eric B and Rakim, De LA Soul, Public Enemy, Chuck D, the Beastie Boys, and Blonde rapped rapture “don’t move too slow cause the man from mars is through with cars. He’s been eating bars…..” and The Clash of radio Clash “on the Pirate side of light”…all raps…rapping for centuries, King David Psalm rap, scratching the harpsichord rap.

Some people say silly things like John Coltrane’s Love Supreme is the greatest album of the 20th century in any genre. Why spoil such a good thing by saying superlatives? I put my headphones back on.

That elusive 82nd win. The Cubs roughed up Jimmy Nelson last night; knocked him out of the game in the fifth inning after 6 hits and five runs. Two more games to go.The Brewers are 81-79

A. Bartlett Giamatti’s Shakespeare talk never resonated too much with me or never any more than John Kruk speak easy. Baseball doesn’t break my heart. It takes me back to Bodega Bay; just north of San Francisco and that German lady overlooking a cliff; waiting for her husband to make his illegal and dangerous dive into the Pacific; hunting for Albemarle.

She offered me chocolate and beer and said “there’s always a toast to be made and a beer to enjoy.” vielen dank!

There’s no broken heart. Kansas City clinched a playoff spot; first time since 1985 and Houston will finish with a better record than Texas, Colorado, and Arizona. The Astros are 70-90 and so are the Red Sox. Two games to go in this inverted pennant drive.

A Charles Mingus stand up double bass sampling?

Author: Steve Myers

I grew up in Milwaukee and have been a Milwaukee Brewers baseball fan for as long as I can remember.

13 thoughts on “i can’t think of a title other than Paul Bunyan work boots

  1. I don’t know jazz very well. All I know is that I like it.

    Was that rap record shouted on top of a Charlie Mingus song? Pretty good. I don’t care for rap, generally, but it’s the gangsta rap that I can’t stand and the ME ME ME assholes that blare that soulless sub-base crap out of their car windows as if to say “Hey, look at ME! I’m an IDIOT!” This is because they were apparently never breast-fed or got any attention from their parents; all they knew was sitting in front of a television set all day during their entire childhood. They never played sports, they only sat inside their parent’s homes and played video games on their fat useless asses.

    Glen

  2. What’s the name of the Mingus song? I’d like to check it out and hear it for myself. I like it.

    Glen

  3. According to what I read, it wasn’t Charles Mingus songs in the background. It sounded classy, anyway. But it wasn’t jazz. It was “Give It Up” by Kool and the Gang, “Queen Of the Nile” by Young-Holt Unlimited, “Right On For the Darkness” by Curtis Mayfield and “Take Me To The Mardi Gras” by Bob James. Of course, that’s dubious information. I don’t trust Wikipedia. There’s so much vandalism done to it.

    I never heard of Bob James or Young-Holt Unlimited, but I’m very well familiar with Kool and The Gang and Curtis Mayfield. Mayfield is one of the all-time greats and I love his stuff, both with The Impressions and his solo stuff. Remember I sent you that song “People Get Ready” by The Impressions? Or was it “It’s Allright”? I forgot. Well, anyway, the Impressions’ most well-known members were Curtis Mayfield and Jerry Butler, otherwise known as “The Iceman”, just like George Gervin.

    Glen

  4. Okay, back to the “It’s a small world” theme that started with your favorite book, “The In Your Face Basketball Book” having my pitcher in it. But it has to do with this Chuck D guy, who I very well might have known. I’ll send you an e-mail about it. It’s too long a story to post here. I’ll just say here that I “worked” at this college radio station that Chuck D apparently did, and since we apparently were there at the same time (there were SO many people at who “worked” at that radio station), we might very well have crossed paths. I read about this before, and I’m confused by it. I don’t remember the guy, nor do I remember some of the others in this article. But I MIGHT have known him (it was a long time ago), and for all I know, he was a really nice guy. I was a sportscaster at that station. I was also a student at the college for a year and a half, just as he apparently was.

    http://events.adelphi.edu/newsevent/radio-days/

    Glen

    • Thanks for the link. Yep, that’s Chuck D in the picture.. I’ll be reading that article shortly and looking for your name in it Glen. I vaguely remember a joint venture Chuck D launched; straight outta Nashville; country raps and frying pans.

Leave a Reply

