brewers baseball and things

day night and day

12 Comments

I have two TV’s,  so I guess in terms of world wealth, I am terribly spoiled. One of them is flat screen and that’s where I watch all the baseball games and movies. The other one is so old that it has one of those VHS bellies built into it. I keep it because I have some Brewer games on tape that are not available on You Tube like that game from I think 2005 when Prince Fielder and Rickie Weeks both hit their first career home runs.

And that old TV freaking exploded Saturday morning. Thank goodness I reacted quickly; wrapping my arms around my head like Egyptian Mummy strands avoiding what I thought were going to be  flying shards of TV tube, but it was just a dream or I guess a nightmare, but what a loud BOOOOM and bizarre way to wake up on Sa-Turds day. The TV suddenly looked like a still and very peaceful Buddha.

The Brewers almost came from behind in the 9th to beat the Cubs Friday night. Lots of home runs too which may be like an uncivilized messy burger at a greasy spoon to some, but I like greasy burgers at local greasy spoons every once in a while and I ate one of those Saturday and well, the Brewers win when they hit home runs; always did and maybe always will. I like the fight in their fabric this past week.

The subway car is always something to exit; slipping through those Star Trek swooosh doors into an inverted cathedral; the massive cement underground; the up and down escalators way more than myth or metaphor with heaven and hell definite possibilities. I had a burger to eat and the Brewers another game to play. The afternnon passed and so did the evening. I digested that burger and by George, the Brewers beat up on the Cubs 12-4 with three more home runs; one of them the first in Jason Rogers’s career and heavens to Betsy it came as a pinch hit three run blast. Rogers looks a bit like Bill Madlock and he plays third base too.

The Brewers are 10-21 and I just saw a man wake up from under an evergreen tree.  He stretched his arms, yawned and apparently had a good night’s rest on pine needles and under the stars. Today is Sunday.

Author: Steve Myers

I grew up in Milwaukee and have been a Milwaukee Brewers baseball fan for as long as I can remember.

12 thoughts on “day night and day

  1. Steve, I just looked for a picture of David Rogers, and I thought, “OH. I SEE. YOU THINK WE ALL LOOK ALIKE, DON’T YOU?” That’s been said to me a few times.

    But I really didn’t think that Rogers looked like Bill Madlock, at least not how I remember him, but then I looked up pictures of Bill Madlock, and I couldn’t believe it, but there is a definite resemblance.

    What I took away from it, though, is that Madlock was already playing from the Cubs when I was in my early to mid teens; I think he had his first big season in 1975. And I was talking on the air to John Commins, who hosted a sports call-in show on our local radio station in Merrick, New York, WGBB, and I was saying that William Wrigley must be crazy to be trying to make a trade him and that William Wrigley must be a cheapskate, and Commins pointed out when was the last time you chewed a pack of gum, and what was it. I said I was chewing it the other day and it was Wrigley’s Spearmint Gum, and Commins said, there’s your answer. Wrigley has more than enough money to pay Bill Madlock.

    But I was only 15 years old, I think, and I just looked at the pictures of Bill Madlock in a Cubs uniform, and he looked like a KID. He never looked like a kid when I was 15; he looked like an old man. THAT’S what scared me about seeing those pictures of Bill Madlock.

    • Perfect timing because Aramis Ramirez already announced his retirement and then here comes Jason Rogers to replace him at third. Jason has a great work ethic and positive attitude and what not and new manager Counsell likes that because that’s the way he was as a player. Counsell probably also likes the batting average of Jason Rogers-.360. The Brewers are 3-3 since he took over.

      • “Perfect timing because Aramis Ramirez already announced his retirement…”

        Who in the world is “Aramis Ramirez”?

  2. Another thing about looking at pitchers of Madlock and Rogers and that is that I recalled Madlock being a little bit on the fat side. Before just now, I Hadn’t seen a picture of Madlock in years, and why should I have? But, yes, he did look a little bit chunky for a ballplayer in the 1970s. Chunky but not FAT. The only real fat players that I can recall from the 70s were a few pitchers like Mickey Lolich with that big pot belly hanging out over his belt, or Rick Reuschell or maybe a handful of others. Fred Gladding, a pitcher, would be one, but I only had him on a baseball card as an Astro in the very early 70s; I never saw him pitch, at least I don’t recall seeing him pitch, but I remember how his teammate Jim Bouton described him in either “Ball Four” or “I’m Glad You Didn’t Take It Personally” as looking like your local neighborhood grocer who’s snuck a more than a few amounts of what otherwise would have been his profits. Yeah, he looked fat on the baseball card.

    And Willie Stargell looked semi-ridiculous in those “We Are Family” Pirates uniforms that made the team look like a swarm of runaway bumblebees. (in other words, STUPID.) It looked like ol’ Pops must have taken two hours to hoist himself into those skintight dopy looking uniforms. (Madlock was on that team, too). Yeah. That was fat in the 70s.

    But NOW, for crying out loud, we’ve got REAL FAT SLOBS playing in the major leagues!!!!!!!! And I don’t know WHY???? Is it that the players have more money with which to eat with???? And if they do, don’t they also have more money with which to buy a complete home gym with???? WOW. Cecil Fielder, who makes Fielder Jones look like a skinny guy, which most ballplayers were in the 70s as well as when Fielder Jones was playing. Most players were skinny in the big leagues in the 70s except for your Stargells, Rueschells, Gladdings, Loliches, or George Scotts or Glenn Hubbards. His son Prince Fielder, who is no prince of a fielder, that’s for sure, is a FAT SLOB like his father. There was a guy who was on the Giants in the world series this past season, and, oh my goooooodness, what a FAT SLOB!!!!

    And there are lots more of these fat slobs.

    So I don’t get it. Overall, in the major leagues nowadays, we have no skinny guys at all??? Just steroid bullies and fat slobs and NOTHING in between???? Not a Kent Tekulve every now and then to kind of level things off???? Whatever happened to guys like Bud Harrelson, the prototypical skinny shortstop, which is what a shortstop of second baseman was SUPPOSED to look like in the 70s???

    I remember how astounded everyone was when mediocre catcher Al Downing bulked from a massive weight-training regimen around 1979 and became known as “The Incredible Hulk.” Nowadays, he’d probably be called a “Beanpole” by the other players.

    • Al Downing? No. I meant BRIAN Downing.

    • I think this weight issue is a metabolism issue, but then again I never attended a weight watcher’s meeting, but that group is now international just like McDonalds and I hear they serve free donuits and sometimes even more; like an entire lunch for free. I love free lunches. Speaking of which I’m kind of hungry and will now go and eat some eggs and cheese and a few cookies and maybe an apple if there’s one in the fridge.

    • I remember one year is one of his annuals, Bill Jmaes listed Madlock’s weaknesses as “cakes, cookies, all types of desserts.”

  3. Now wouldn’t it be something if you Bill Madlock was on one of those VHS tapes? Likely not the case since those were AL days for your principal team. It was a good week for your team.

    • I don’t think he’s on one of those VHS tapes, but maybe on a you tube upload; original broadcast in its entirety and maybe with the Cubs in the mid 1970’s? There were some crazy high scoring games at Wrigley in those years. I’m gonna do some sniffing around you tube and see what i can find. Hopefully Mad dog as a Cub.

  4. Wait, Aramis Ramirez announced his retirement? Man, I’m getting old.

    • And he’s only 36. When Aramis announced his retirememnt in April, I just assumed he was closer to 40. Maybe he’ll change his mind.