brewers baseball and things

twilight trivia and the creep weed of death

12 Comments

A doubleheader was wrong in so many ways. Two games on the same day equaled half as many turnstile clicks and way less beer, popcorn, and pennants sold.

And for us fans? Well, my first double header was the Brewers/Red Sox, at County Stadium Milwaukee, in the mid to late 70’s and that’s about all I remember except for feeling bored midway through game two. I think Dick Drago was pitching? But it still felt like a sin. To be bored at a baseball game. Blasphemous, but true! I kept it to myself, until now.

I made up for it later in life, attending a bunch of twilight double headers. And that felt defiant like staying up all night for the first time or watching The Doors movie starring Val Kilmer. I wanted to change my world after seeing that so my roommate and I rearranged the used furniture of our apartment, drank a six pack and fell asleep. I guess we weren’t meant to be rebels.

But I was walking home from work a few hours ago and had the itch to publish a post and that felt rebellious and kind of strange because I only do that in the morning. It felt like the third inning of a twilight doubleheader with forever in front of me. I stopped by the liquor store.

It was a comment on yesterday’s post that put me in this foghorn leghorn state of mind, a scratching my head huh?, an I-gotta-post-something-tonight-mood.

The comment was innocuous, but aren’t all the dangerous ones like that, creeping so subtle and slow and spreading far and wide, all through the body, but especially the mind, my mind, until I felt naked and everywhere was a dead end so the cork had to burst?

“Like Clarence Carter,” wk said, “Chris is a one big-hit kind of guy,”

My mental reflex flashed to Bruce Springsteen’s Spirits in the Night and the saxophone speak of Clarence Clemons, but then I looked closer because wk references are typically a tad more obscure than that and sure enough, there was a name I had never heard of, as usual. Clarence Carter was his name and I guess he had one big hit, but the music reference wasn’t  the point. The words “one big hit,” were.

I forgot to include Mark Reynolds in the Swing and Miss or Hit One a Country Mile Brewer Bombers welcome to Chris Carter and that’s when the foghorn leghorn seized me. Or maybe I’m using the wrong reference? But didn’t foghorn leghorn always seem a bit confused? A bit foggy I guess? 

Anyway, Mark Reynolds played on the Brewers in 2014 and hit home runs and swung and missed a lot too, but more importantly, while I was walking home, I was hit with, Who hit the most home runs with the fewest hits in single season baseball history? And I even came up with a possible answer. Holy crap. Maybe it’s Chris Carter?

I looked it up and he hit 37 home runs in 2014 with only 115 hits (21 doubles and one triple.) So that means, Carter hit, pause for calculation, 37/115 = .32 or 32 per cent of his hits for home runs. Did I do that right? 

Mark Reynolds, by super close comparison, also hit 37 home runs one year, in 2011 as an Oriole….118 hits (27 doubles and one triple) Freaking almost identical. 37/118 = .31 or 31 percent of Reynold’s hits were for home runs, if I did this right.

Somewhere on line, there’s probably a list of most home runs – fewest hits, but I’ll probably sip some whisky, listen to music and work on the next post instead, about the Brewers outfield, maybe for tomorrow morning?

 

Author: Steve Myers

I grew up in Milwaukee and have been a Milwaukee Brewers baseball fan for as long as I can remember.

12 thoughts on “twilight trivia and the creep weed of death

  1. That was the big hit by Clarence Carter that W.K. was talking about.

    Glen

    • Thanks Glen, now there’s doubles of this video, one on yesterday’s post and another today and both because of you and to think, two days ago, I had never heard of Clarence Carter’s Patchwork. All change. Thanks to wk. Quite a song. Quite a tribute to the boy’s father. Cripes all that life to deal with at 13 years young. I like the story telling feel of the song and the intermittent harmonica but what a burden and responsibility…that voice of his daddy, “depending on you to pull the family through.”

  2. The funny thing is that I’m not crazy about the Clarence Carter “Patches”. I mean, I won’t run from a room if I hear it playing, but I wouldn’t go out and buy the 45 RPM. Incidentally, “Patches” was a hit in 1970, and I never had my own radio until the summer of 1971, so I missed “Patches” when it was a hit; I never heard it at the time it was a hit because my mother listened to WPAT, the easy listening station in our area, and my father listened mostly to jazz and classical. I was the lowbrow guy in the house who listened to country music!!!! I’m not crazy about most early Springsteen songs either (maybe they’re an acquired taste).

    Here’s my favorite Springsteen song, and it’s one of my favorite songs in general of ANY artist or ANY song. I love so many songs, but this has got to be pretty near the top for me. I fell in love with this song the first time I heard it in 1980, and I’ve loved it ever since.

    Glen

    • The River or Hungry Heart on the River, definitely a catchy tune. I haven’t heard that in a while. I think county stadium played it quite often between innings and if I remember correctly, it got people dancing more than most songs, but less than twist and shout. Does every stadium play twist and shout? I’ve heard that song way too many times to like it or maybe I never liked it in the first place.

      • I really never thought of “Hungry Heart” as a song to dance to. It’s a song with a story. Generally, story songs aren’t made for dancing.

        “Twist and Shout” is definitely a dancing song. Everyone seems to know the Beatles’ version, but the first hit with the song was by the Isley Brothers in 1962. I’m not sure which one I like better. I think I like the Isley Brothers version better. The Beatles recorded it a year or two later. See how you like the Isleys version, if you haven’t heard it before.

        Glen

      • I have no idea what’s a good song to dance to, not after seeing 80 year olds dance for three hours at Polka Festivals in that capitol city of the world, Milwaukayeh.

  3. Where do you think is the polka capital of America- Milwaukee or northeast Pennsylvania?

    • I have no idea except I know what I saw and those old geezers had me sweating. I swear they either couldn’t or woudn’t stop. Have you ever seen a polka? It’s a freaking hard dance to do or harder than a line dance which is about the only dance I know other than dancing with myself.

    • Now it’s morning, a few hours later and no, I don’t feel like doing a polka, but I did a quick google search and both Milwaukee and somewhere in Pennsylvania pop up as possibilities as to the Polka capital, but so does Chicago and that makes sense. Huge Polish population there or at least I think there is. Or maybe this is a ney york centric kind of question, identifying one city or section as THE capital?

      • I’d be willing to bet that, percentage-wise and per capita wise, Lackawanna County and Luzerne County in NEPA would be first in Poles. I know, because I lived a long time in the area.

        Here’s an actual telephone directory from that area (addresses withheld).

        Mkrwowicz, Lamar

        Stubowakowski, Irving

        Brown, Joe

        Cowznofski, Moshe

        Zmkranowski, Leroy

        Smith, Bill

        Krbzitoski, Reginald

        Fpwosinszki, Myron

        Jones, Tom

      • oh no, the racial profiling has begun in america. I’m moving to canada.