brewers baseball and things

spring spitball

18 Comments

i got my spitballs in the mail, not the pitches, but the magazine, of the spring edition, the one with my story in it – Along The Dirty River.

i asked the Spitball publisher, Mike Shannon, if i could post the story here and he said yes; that i retain all rights, but please indicate that the story first appeared in Spitball: The Literary Baseball Magazine, Spring 2016, No.78.

Along The Dirty River

 

Author: Steve Myers

I grew up in Milwaukee and have been a Milwaukee Brewers baseball fan for as long as I can remember.

18 thoughts on “spring spitball

  1. very nice job, Slick. I’m at an age where I seriously start planning my own funeral. Less angst in mine. 🙂
    v

    • thanks v. ideally, the funeral, our own death and all that becomes an exciting summer vacation to who knows where? or no where at all? but best of all, we don’t have to come back for school in september.

  2. Great story, Steve, and a lot to think about.
    Ω

    • Let’s hope the next Nicosia who attempts to seduce a wk relative uses a Tekakwitha whisper instead.

      • Did you know that Nicosia is the largest city on the island of Cyprus? So Steve Nicosia is probably Greek, not Italian, as I had always assumed.

        When I first looked up Steve Nicosia (because Steve Nicosia, the catcher, was what I immediately thought of when I read the story), I expected to find his statistics with Braves. But he was never on the Braves. He was on the Pirates. Then I realized that I probably got him mixed up with Matt Sinatro. They were two relatively marginal catchers who played in the National League at around the same period of time.

        Steve, were you thinking of Steve Nicosia when you named the kid in this story?

        Glen

  3. A very intense story, Steve. Very different from anything that you’ve written before, or at least anything that I’ve read of your’s. This story is Rod Serling-ish, very Twilight Zone. Creepy in some ways. Great attention to detail. I think that Debra Pinkles would give it an A.

    At first, I was thinking of allegory kind of stuff. I thought that Nicosia was actually going to smash all of his father’s Milwaukee Braves nick-knacks with that Andy Pafko baseball bat, and it would be like Nicosia was starting a new religion. Kind of like Abraham smashing his father’s idol’s. You’re a member of that religion, Steve. You’re BREWISH, rather than BRAVE-ISH. (Get the pun?)

    Another alegory from the Old Testament—- Noah’s Ark. I started thinking about Noah’s Ark as soon as soon as Nicosia’s father mentioned about seeing Al Simmons in the water, building a big wooden raft with his bare hands.

    I doubt you had any of this in mind when you wrote this, Steve, but it’s what went through MY mind.

    A good story, good that you left the ending to the imagination. It kind of gave me the chills!

    Glen

  4. thanks Glen. I hadn’t thought of any of that bible stuff, but now i am. It’s interesting what went through your mind. I guess since i grew up in between the milwaukee river and lake michigan, and splashed around in both, water showed up in this story. Milwaukee as a city name, according to some historians, comes from the Potawatomi or Ojibwe languages meaning “gathering place by the water.”

  5. Saved, shall read at my leisure.

  6. What does this mean in the comments?—- “Let’s hope the next Nicosia who attempts to seduce a wk relative uses a Tekakwitha whisper instead.” Huh??????

    Also, were you thinking of Steve Nicosia, former catcher of the Pittsburgh Pirates when you wrote this? If so, you got both sides of your family in this— the side from Boston and Milwaukee, and the side from Pittsburgh, PA.

    Glen

  7. I printed this story off shortly after you posted — I find it easier to focus on what I’m reading if it’s in hard copy as opposed to electronic. *Finally* I get around to the actual reading part of it, and this story is honestly fantastic. It’s extremely well-written and enjoyably eerie. Thank you so much for sharing this with us!

    On a related note, after I finished reading, I placed the story on the counter, at which point my cat came over and promptly pushed it into the trash can. While that sounds like an insult, it’s actually a compliment to you. She gets jealous very easily and despises anything that draws my attention so effectively away from her.

    • Thanks Precious. Glad you enjoyed the story and glad your cat had a say too. Before reading your explanation, I thought the cat’s act might be a reminder that nothing lasts forever.

Leave a Reply

