brewers baseball and things

dear candlestick park

3 Comments

i didn’t know about you until watching Cubs at the Giants games on WGN, sometime in the early 80’s, but I was immediately struck by something. Back then we called it 20,000 leagues under the sea. that was our code word for exotic or out of this world. the spaceship by the water, the orange uniforms, the hot dog wrappers in the wind, Ed Halicki.

Author: Steve Myers

I grew up in Milwaukee and have been a Milwaukee Brewers baseball fan for as long as I can remember.

3 thoughts on “dear candlestick park

  1. Do you remember the TV ads with Don Novello doing his “Father Guido Sarducci” character? His tagline was, “Go, Giants, go.”

    I haven’t been able to find any of the videos online, but they will be worth the effort if I ever find them.

    Thanks for the memories,
    Ω

    • I don’t remember those ads but I definitely remember Father Guido Sarducci on Saturday Night Live. And then Tony La Russa came along and I was convinced Sarducci had reincarnated or something. They looked so much alike.

Leave a Reply

