brewers baseball and things

Beer Barrel Man and Beyond

6 Comments

I don’t really care about uniforms which makes sense because I don’t really care about clothes, shoes or hats either. To me they serve a practical function, to keep us warm in winter, cool in the summer and hats? Good for keeping the sun off my head, not much else. But I do appreciate others who dress colorfully and applaud major league baseball for tying current teams to their histories with throwback uniforms and hats and promotions that link the present with the past even if it is all about money.

Beer Barrel Man

With that in mind, I liked the Brewers decision in 2015 to bring back Beer Barrel Man, newly named Barrel Man, the beloved mascot with the keg/barrel for a belly and tap for a nose symbolizing Milwaukee’s long obsession with beer, beginning with I would think German immigrants who brought their love of beer to Cream City aptly named because of the yellow or cream colored bricks used to construct local buildings in the early 19th century. The Irish helped too.

It seems that part of anyone’s initiation in Milwaukee involves beer and I’m surprised the drinking age isn’t 14! That’s the age I learned to enjoy beer or more specifically – enjoy the buzz, thanks to my friend’s older brothers who willingly bought us Old Style, Mickeys Malt, Miller, Schaefer, Busch, Pabst Blue Ribbon, Leinenkugels, Blatz. We didn’t care. We had no fancy palette. Don’t have one now either.

Just about everyone, at some point, drinks beer in Milwaukee and if they are Brewers fans, they find out early that going to a game at the old County Stadium and then at Miller Park and now American Family Field is more than watching Cecil Cooper’s crouched stance patterned after legendary Rod Carew or a Richie Sexson monumental blast or Willy Adames rifling a throw from shallow left field to first base. All of these examples are true, but so are hundreds of parties going on…barbecues and beer, tailgating in the parking lot before the game.

Owgust

The Brewers weren’t the first local team to make use of the beer barrel man. The minor league Milwaukee Brewers which existed from 1902 to 1952, at some point in apparently the 1940’s adopted a logo eventually called Owgust. I was unable to find the origins of the word, but it does resemble August and according to an etymology site, it means “worthy of respect, venerable, majestic” which is how I feel about most bartenders serving us beers. Owgust wasn’t represented just as a hitter. There were variations of hims as a pitcher, a fielder, a catcher, a base runner and a runner sliding into second.

    Borchert Field

The minor league Brewers were independent from 1902-1928, and than from 1929-1933, a St. Louis Browns affiliate, then independent again from 1934-1946 and lastly, an affiliate of the Boston Braves from 1947-1952.  They first played at Brewer Field, later renamed Borchert Field in 1920 after Otto Borchert, son of a….you guessed it, a brewing pioneer! They actually built County Stadium with the minor league Brewers in mind, but then Lou Perini announced that his MLB Boston Braves would be relocating to Milwaukee which was maybe the inspiration behind the Dodgers and Giants, later in the decade, relocating west? Anyway, it ended a half century of minor league baseball in Milwaukee. And the new MLB Braves? No, they didn’t adopt Owgust as a mascot and they only played 13 seasons in Milwaukee, but what seasons they were, all of them above .500 plus a World Series win in 1957 over the legendary Yanks and runner up the following year to those same Yanks.

The Braves eventually relocated again, to Atlanta to start the 1966 season so Milwaukee was without a team, but when the one year wonder Seattle Pilots supposedly went bankrupt after the 1969 season, Bud Selig swooped in and stole them away to Milwaukee to become the Brewers and it wasn’t long before Owgust was resurrected as the newly named Beer Barrel Man, until 1977 anyway. Then, came the ball and glove M and B (Milwaukee Brewers logo) and now we have the best of both worlds, both Barrel Man and the M and B glove, depending on the day. They even have throwback uniforms to a Negro League team that played in Milwaukee, but that’s another story.

My family doctor recently told me that new studies have shown that any amount of alcohol is not good for us. The old theory, he said, of a glass of wine at dinner or before bed helped this or that is no longer true. Whatever….I’d rather live to 70 with less stress thanks to a beer then live to 75 with no way to relax. And I know exercise helps. I try and walk a few miles every day and it does help, but there is nothing quite like a beer. And so as I exited the doctor’s office, my thoughts eventually returned to Owgust, to Beer Barrel man, to Barrel man and I knew that later that night I would be enjoying a frosty one and hopefully witness a Brewers win though they just got swept by the Phillies which has me wanting to drink 6 beers.

Author: Steve Myers

I grew up in Milwaukee and have been a Milwaukee Brewers baseball fan for as long as I can remember.

6 thoughts on “Beer Barrel Man and Beyond

  1. Thanks for the info on the origins of Cream City. A cool name and a nifty story.

    I could see you writing for or contributing to the Cream City Review, Steve: Cream City Review | CREAM CITY REVIEW | FICTION / NON-FICTION / POETRY / ART (uwm.edu)

    I’ll think of you on my daily morning walk _ and hope you’ll continue to take your strolls, too.

    • Thanks Mark. I knew of Milwaukee as the Cream City, but until doing some soft core research, I never knew why. I always thought the moniker had to do with cream as in suds as in beer.

      I didn’t know about the Cream City Review. Thanks so much for the link. It’s always great to know of places where we can try and share our posts and articles and what not.

      I’m heading out for a walk now before it rains. Too bad the Expos aren’t in town anymore. I could go to the game tonight. I know many people hated Olympic Stadium, but it was very convenient, reachable by subway. I arrived her in 2001 and watched the sad last years of the team, unfortunate, but I’m glad to have been here before their relocation because it inspired me to join the local SABR chapter where I met some baseball fans. Have a great day Mark.

  2. This is cool, man. A little bit of history on the Crew. Gotta love it!

    P.S. Bud Selig was/is a scumbag, but hey, MLB as an entity is a scuzzy, hypocritical shit show under the guise of “family friendly.”

    • Thanks Gary. I’m super glad you appreciate some Crew history. I love that you have adopted the Brewers as one of your favorite teams. I think Oakland and Milwaukee have a lot in common. The one thing I liked about Selig is that when he was owner of the Crew he would sit amongst the fans as opposed to the press box. Other than that, I agree, he was a total scumbag, still is. My dad was a lawyer and some other lawyer friend of his lived next door to Selig in Bayside, a suburb of Milwaukee that got the nickname Bagelside because a lot of Jews lived there. I used to go over there and play at the lawyer friend’s son’s house and we almost always played baseball in the back yard and Selig’s backyard was never cut which we took as a good thing because it made for a nice home run triumph, the ball disappearing. I never saw Selig there, but since those times he has installed sculptures on his front lawn, useless shit that rich people like to have, but then again some of them are interesting to look at. When I’m back home visiting my parents, I always ride my bike by the house. Maybe I should leave some dog shit in Selig’s mailbox.

      Not too far from where Selig lived was this house we called the witches house, right along Lake Michigan in the next suburb, south of Bayside (bagel side.) It’s called Fox point, but since there are a lot of Jews that live there too, it’s called Lockspoint. Anyway, the sculpturer, rest in peace, did some amazing art work that I think is still there. Here’s a link to her stuff.
      https://www.atlasobscura.com/places/mary-nohl-house

  3. That’s a great history of barrel man. And I have to admit…I’ve never seen the M and B in the logo. Say what you will, I just thought it was always just a glove. Much shame.

    • Thanks Bob. I’m glad you enjoyed a little history of barrel man. I still don’t know where they came up with the name Owgust. Another logo that baffles me is the Expos logo. There’s all kinds of theories of what it is and what the letters stand for, kind of an ongoing mystery and as a result, I think it will sort of stand the test of time with people wearing Expos hats who have no idea who they were.

Leave a comment