brewers baseball and things

temporarily free from mental disturbance

10 Comments

Harry Stagginovitz took a long look in his sister’s eyes and despised the mascara so he turned away, turned away from the world, but then he turned back because it was the day their grandfather was to be buried and he needed to be there according to his mom even though he didn’t know his grandpa too well, just the legend, that during his last three years when delirium and depression and paranoia ruined his logical explanations of things, he still knew that old baseball games could bring him back to some semblance of himself – to Leonard Stagginovitz and he had hundreds and hundreds of baseball games, radio broadcasts, tapes and no one knew where he got them, but they were like medicine in that each one cured a different ailment and he knew which one to play to tackle the specific problem…
A 10-0 shutout with no homeruns stopped a depression episode.
A pitcher’s duel with plenty of errors mellowed his paranoia.
A game that ended in a walk-off resulted in him calling his wife “honey bee” again and she was already dead.

Harry wasn’t like his grandfather. He didn’t like baseball….didn’t know it….didn’t have a father so there was no catch, no baseball card gifts, no pilgrimage to the local stadium. He did however have a falcon hook of a nose, thick lips, long straight black hair and piercing blue eyes. And people took notice of him and Harry handled the attention quite well. He developed a strut and a provocative lean against a wall or tree that accentuated his features and melted a girl’s vows.

Father Three Springs knew Harry’s mother quite well and he told her to sedate Harry and have a vasectomy performed, an outrageous suggestion to make for an 18-year old boy especially for a mother who longed for grandchildren, but she agreed.

“We aren’t out of the woods yet,” he told Mrs. Stagginovitz. “His good looks might still ruin him.

And Father Three Springs was right. By the time Harry turned 19, he had already enjoyed a dozen lovers and showed no signs of letting up, fully embracing the notion to “accept loss forever” and so it was with a Julia one month followed by a Vanessa the next and so on, a new Trail of Tears as Harry’s lovers became tailpipe Annies as he zoomed away and Harry didn’t care. He made his intentions clear right from the git-go, to know as many people as possible and after the initial rush of intimacy, he lowered the temperature to platonic, but the world didn’t want that, couldn’t tolerate it, too light and free. Harry became an enemy of the people and this weighed on his wellbeing.

He began to hunch over and talk out loud when no one was around. He rejected Father Three Spring’s offer of a God who would listen, instead choosing to talk to strangers on the 2nd floor of the new McDonalds on 6th and Clem. It was there with his head down, he fell asleep and was in and out of dreams and one stayed with him, about shortening his family name from Stagginovitz to Stagg. He didn’t decipher dream symbols and their meanings too well, but that name Stagg had potential; it was American, canned food American, chili, a hint of the wild west and red granite peaks and saguaro cacti and big skies. Snakes. Sun. Starting over.

Harry bought a tent, sleeping bag, and butane-fueled hot plate and escaped to Moonshine Park and like Wade Boggs did with chicken; he enjoyed a can of Stagg Chili every day and as satisfying as it was, he began to look at everyone with suspicion.

One early spring day, a man in a long beige rain jacket and oversized dress pants walked up to the bench where Harry was sitting and skipped all “nice weather, how do you do” formalities, took a look at Harry from head to foot and said the word “potential,” and then excitedly continued to speak….”The Mariners are the only team that has never been in a World Series, not a one in their entire existence, but that doesn’t stop them and their fans and so a butterfly flaps its wings, a turtle takes another step and we best be moving onward too.”

“Where?” asked Harry.

“A surprise. You like surprises, don’t you? My name is Stanislaus but I’m no patron saint so just call me Stan. I’ll tell you this…when I watched Hoyt Wilhem and Wilbur Wood and Phil Niekro throw the knuckleball, I discovered what was happening right in front of me.”

“And what was that?”

“A butterfly in flight.”

Harry had never heard the names, but he liked the idea of a ball moving like a butterfly. He reached into his bag and removed a can of Stagg.

“You want to share a can,” he asked. “It’s Carolina Hot.”

And they shared a first supper of chili and Stan didn’t need a nap after eating.

“Now about that surprise,” said Stan. “Let’s go.”

“Go where?”

“To my car.”

It was a red fleetwood cadillac. Old. Big. Welcoming. Harry slipped into the passenger seat and off they went, in no particular direction.

“Roll down your window,” encouraged Stan. “I’ll turn on the radio. The game oughta be starting soon.”

Harry thought about his grandfather. The radio. The games. The tapes. The cure.

Author: Steve Myers

I grew up in Milwaukee and have been a Milwaukee Brewers baseball fan for as long as I can remember.

10 thoughts on “temporarily free from mental disturbance

  1. I love the wild energy your characters have. And how often it spills out in quixotic adventures. But I guess there is a difficult side to that. Where eventually to find landing. Where to come down. And I love that for you it is baseball and writing. Is it odd to say, when you meet someone who is 50 and never really let loose when they where young and now it seems to eat them up.

    • Thanks Bob. I’m glad you appreciate the characters and you put it perfectly, “where to come down.” I’m reminded of Icarus and being burned by the sun. Maybe he should have picked a sport to love.

      I had a teacher one time that hinted for us to try and not fall of the horse of experience, to keep riding until we could go no more and then carve out a little path and live out the rest of our days not regretting what we didn’t do.

      • That’s great advice from your teacher. I’ll daydream and think how nice it would be to tend a garden, read a book, take a long walk. Now, if that bag a money fell from the sky soon and I could quite my job, I could get started on that full time.

        • He was a memorable teacher and poet. He was James Liddy from Ireland. I say was because he passed away in 2008, but it still feels like he’s here. I met him at UW-Milwaukee and took his class about Kerouac Beat Generation literature. He often invited us students to drink at a local pub. The class, the books, James Liddy, the bars all changed my life…for the better. I think? I hope.

  2. Old baseball games are surely medicine, and I know a few have pulled me out of the doldrums of depression. It’s kind of magical.

    I’ve only seen one two-story McDonalds in my life and I believe it was in San Francisco.

    I enjoy imagining you sitting at a typewriter and banging away these little stories with a cigarette and a whiskey bottle as companions. Great stuff. I’ve been a reader for well over a decade and it never gets old.

    • Thanks Gary. I agree with you about games being magical. Cripes, when I’m in the right mood, the whole damn world seems magical, especially baseball.

      Is that San Francisco two-story McDonalds the one on Haight street? Across from Golden Gate Park? I like that park. They have a field of buffaloes there.

      I can’t think of anything much better than a whisky and a smoke and a typewriter though I don’t smoke anymore and I kind of miss it.

      As you said Gary, we’ve both been writing here on wordpress for over a decade and cheers to it continuing for another decade or more. It feels like we’re in an informal writing group and it’s kind of hard to measure how important that connection is, but it’s very significant and I thank you for that.

  3. Steve, I have an urge to crack open a Pabst or two, grill up some Usinger’s sausages, top them with Stagg chili and listen to a 1956 baseball radio broadcast (in honor of Clement Hirsch, who created the Skagg chili brand that year.) Your writing awakens the senses and captures feelings well. The line about the baseball tapes _ “They were like medicine in that each one cured a different ailment and he knew which one to play to tackle the specific problem” _ is wise and wonderful. Your depiction of Leonard tells me you have experience observing people with dementia. You described accurately and well how such a person travels into different worlds and how the memories and security of old baseball broadcasts can help bring someone back to what we consider the “real” world.

    • I’m so glad you appreciate the effect listening to a game can have on our mental state. I’ve often thought of baseball as a cult, maybe one of the largest in the world, with the symbols we share and friendships formed.

      Thanks Mark for mentioning Clement Hirsch and 1956. It inspired me to look up 1956 on YouTube and I came across a few games on the radio from that year, full games. One in particular caught my eye or ear because it’s a regular season game and every regular season game seems to have their own peculiarities making it kind of irregular. It’s the White Sox and Yankees. I’m going to give it a listen and see what kind of effect it has on me. Enjoy the rest of the weekend. Here’s the link to the game.

  4. Much like Harry getting into the red Caddy heading in no particular direction, I feel like this when I read your posts… “I’m getting into Steve’s car now and heading in no particular direction,” I think to myself, but I do so enjoy the journey you take us on with your writing and all of its’ figurative dips and breaks and bends… much like a Phil Niekro knuckleball. 

    Good luck to your Brewers this season!     

Leave a comment